Jimmy Graham draws flag in scrimmage for goal-post dunk

August 2, 2014 – 7:15 pm by Ryan Phillips
    Jimmy Graham

Jimmy Graham refuses to play by the rules, and we love him for it.

On Saturday the New Orleans Saints tight end scored a touchdown in an intra-squad scrimmage and promptly “dunked” the ball over the goal-post in what has become his signature¬†celebration. He was immediately flagged for unsportsmanlike conduct, and that could¬†become a regular occurrence this year.

In the offseason the NFL adopted what is being referred to as the “Jimmy Graham rule” which will penalize anyone who uses the goal-post as a prop during a celebration. It is a 15-yard penalty and the player doing the maneuver will be fined increasing amounts as violations accumulate. Clearly Graham isn’t too concerned about it.

When told of the new rule during the offseason, Graham vowed to lead the league in penalties. The remark was made with his tongue firmly planted in his cheek, but we wouldn’t be surprised if the 27-year-old violates the new rule a few times during the season. And we’ll all laugh about it and have a good time. That is, until one of those 15-yard penalties comes back to bite the Saints, which one inevitably will.

But in the meantime it’s pretty entertaining that Graham, even in a scrimmage, was willing to break the rule just to have a little fun.

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...

Post a Comment